The Start of Something

I had an interesting conversation with MukTuk today. It started out with:

MukTuk 10:37 pm
WTH inception means “the beginning of something, such as an undertaking; a commencement”…. IT DOESNT MEAN A DREAM WITHIN A DREAM?!

You know, I didn’t realize that movie made such an impact on pop culture. If you asked me today what I thought “inception” meant, I would have said something along the lines of “it’s hard to define the lines of reality sometimes…?”

Someone asked me a similar question a while ago, and as I was explaining the term’s meaning, I got confused between “inception” and “conception.”

I know conception is the start of something, specifically pregnancy, but inception also mea

nt the start of something. The prefix “con-” means “not,” but the prefix “in-” also means “not.” I would guess since both words mean start of something, the suffix “-ception” must mean “ending” so the two words can form the meaning “not ending” = start. Right?!

If that’s true, why are there TWO TERMS that mean the SAME THING?!

English is a very confusing language. No wonder we have to keep taking it until college…

Leave a Reply

