Book Smart vs. Street Smart

I found this quote online and thought it was really funny.

Whenever someone says “I’m book smart, but I’m not street smart”, all I hear is “I’m not real smart, but I’m imaginary smart.”  Well…imaginary smart or not. When I’m your boss it won’t matter what type of smart I am.

Has anyone ever thought that maybe “imaginary smart” people who act like they aren’t “real smart” are actually brilliant.  Why would you act like you know how to do stuff and have practical knowledge?? If people think you don’t know how to do things then they will do it for you. It is frustrating to watch a person do things wrong or act dumb.  Therefore, it is natural for someone who thinks they know how to do it better to step in and fix it.  I can’t think of any examples, but I know it is true.  

My family and friends can see right through my imaginary smart all the time.  I have to do my own homework, plan things, talk to strangers if we are lost, I have to drive sometimes, I have to pack on my own, and I even have to do the dishes! Except if I’m with Oompahloompa. If you wait long enough and keep doing it wrong…she will eventually step in and do it for you. She can’t help it. I think it’s a disease.   But the rest of them…they don’t even listen! 

However, maybe “imaginary smart” people really don’t know how think about and do normal people things.  Well…we will never know because “imaginary smart” people genuinely don’t understand what is going on and “real smart” people are SO smart they will never tell others because they would probably have to start doing stuff. 

One thought on “Book Smart vs. Street Smart

Leave a Reply

